Foodservice.com Forums
Home |  Restaurant BizTalk  |  Chef and Cook's Corner |  Industry Currents |  TechTalk  |  CafTalk  |  Food Safety
Forums New Posts Messages My Account  
Foodservice.com > CafTalk (OnSite / Non-commercial) > Correctional (Prison) Food Service

Viewing Thread: Correctional (Prison) Food Service
Subscribe
December 20, 2008 10:34 PM quote 
CarolinaGirl is offline CarolinaGirl
 Correctional (Prison) Food Service
I was wanting to know if anyone has any experience and advice for someone starting out in correctional food service. I will probably be starting as a food service office in a month or so. From what I understand, the inmates do most of the actual cooking, but we will be preparing some meals, documenting and inventorying everything, and making sure that the inmate workers follow recipes, procedures, ans sanitation guidelines.

As far as my background, I've been a correctional officer for 5 years, and have limited food service experience [2 years as a part-time student employee in college cafeteria settings - mostly prep, serving line, and simple things like smoothies & sandwiches]. I am planning on starting culinary arts classes at the local community college in fall, but will be learning "on the job" before I ever start school. I did get copies of our policies & procedures and am studying them, but I thought it'd be helpful to ask for any first hand advice. If it matters, this is a maximum security men's prison [same place i've been as a c.o. for the past several years].
Sponsorship
December 21, 2008 6:06 PM quote 
Steve A is offline Steve A

Check your private messages, Carolina.

From what I remember my friend telling me, his primary job was administrative (paper pusher) and baby-sitting. I'm going to try to get hold of him for you. He has an extensive background in correctional facility food service.

Ciao,

Give 'em what they want. Just make it better than they expected. 

December 22, 2008 5:37 PM quote 
Steve A is offline Steve A