Foodservice.com Forums
Home |  Restaurant BizTalk  |  Chef and Cook's Corner |  Industry Currents |  TechTalk  |  CafTalk  |  Food Safety
Forums New Posts Messages My Account  
Foodservice.com > Chefs and Cooks Corner > Professional Chef?

Viewing Thread: Professional Chef?
Subscribe
May 23, 2002 2:38 PM quote 
 is offline
I have been working in the food industry for 20 years. I started out working in a donut shop and have worked my way up. I am currently working as a baker for a foodservice company. I bake all desserts from breakfast pastries to gormet desserts. Can I call myself a chef even though I don't have a degree in cooking? Just wondering as it seems to me some do this. Thanks.

Lisa
Sponsorship
May 23, 2002 5:13 PM quote 
 is offline
Dear Lisa:

Your right, some people do use the title of Chef without ever having attended a culinary school, however most of the ones that are taken seriously have validated theit ability in a wide variety of culinary experience and the related management responsibilities that come with the positions. This is not to say that there are not wonderful chefs out there that have done nothing but cook, but in most cases they are usually self employed or work for a private establishment and do not need the "sheep skin" to get their foot in the door.

I say solid experience is better than a degree anyday, but some employers do not agree - Only you can decide for yourself if you can "Walk the Walk" - Good Luck..H
May 23, 2002 5:27 PM quote 
 is offline
Hi Lisa,

Welcome to the forum. It's a lot of fun here.

You don't need a degree to call yourself chef. To find out if you can call yourself chef, ask yourself these questions:

Am I in charge of the kitchen?
Will I get blamed if anything and everything goes wrong?
Will I get the credit and kudos if everything goes right?
Do I love doing this more than anything else?
Do I enjoy working holidays and weekends while my family and friends are having fun?